National Festival 2016 (Weekend 1)

The first of the two Community Games National Festival weekends took place last weekend, 12-14 August and 220 competitors from all across the county took part in a variety of events.  For a full list of all competitors and placings, please check here.  St Francis Credit Union Clare Community Games returned home with a massive haul of medals and plenty of happy children with memories to cherish and new friends to connect with. Well done to all concerned, not least to all the volunteers who make this happen. Have a look at this nice letter from the Irish Times today from a Quin supporter and check out this piece from the Irish Independent in which the Foleys from Killaloe extol the virtues of Community Games!


Photo courtesy of Mary Loughnane - See Facebook for full Photo Album or Community Games Flickr site.


  • Art U16 & O14 Girls (Tulla): Kaylee Cahill.
  • Choir U13 & O6 Boys/Girls/Mixed (Quin - Clooney): Aisling Mchugh, Caoimhe Downey, Claire Murphy, Daire Guilfoyle, Dylan Leamy, Ellie McNamara, Freida Parker, Grainne Lennon, Isaac O'Sullivan, Jack O'Neill, Karen O'Sullivan, Lara Begg, Lauren Wall, Lucy O'Donnell, Maeve Wall, Rachel Rusk, Roisin O'Mullane.
  • Cross Country 1200m U13 & O11 Boys/Girls/Mixed: Cian O'Boyle (Ennis St Johns), Colin Ryan (Ennis St Johns), Grace McKiernan (Kilrush), Jack O'Neill (Quin - Clooney), Luke Griffin (Ballinacahill-Lissycasey), Neasa Ni Ainifein (Ruan), Niall Murphy (Quin - Clooney), Rachel Rusk (Quin - Clooney), Saoirse Crowe (Kilmurry - McMahon - Labasheeda), Shauna O'Gorman (Cooraclare-Cree).
  • Cycling on Grass U12 & O10 Girls (Coolmeen): Alannah Attewell.
  • Handball - One wall U13 & O9 Boys (Derg): Cathal Mckenna, Gearoid Sheedy, Patrick Crotty, Rossa Keehan, Sean Treacy, Tiarnan Slattery.
  • Handball - One wall U13 & O9 Girls (Kilkishen - OCallaghan Mills - Oatfield): Chloe Philpott, Eimear Murphy, Holly Nugent, Katie Frost, Laoise Baker, Rebecca Burke.
  • Handball - One wall U16 & O13 Boys (Derg, Clare): Conor Downes, Fionn Slattery, Jason McCarthy, Mark Rodgers, Sean Wiley, Seanie Doyle.
  • Model Making U10 & O6 Boys (Cratloe): Shane Leahy.
  • Model Making U14 & O6 Boys (Cratloe): Jack Leahy.
  • Model Making U16 & O6 Boys (Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry): Paul Hamilton.
  • Rugby Tag U11 & O8 Mixed (Quin - Clooney): Aidan Keating, Conor McCarthy, Dannan Fox, David Cahill, Emer Magee, Euan McGowan, Eva Rusk, John Cahill, Matthew Corbett, Muireann O'Mullane, Shane Haran.
  • Skittles U12 & O9 Boys/Girls/Mixed (Quin - Clooney): Aine Browne, Cian McNamara, David Considine, Lorcan O'Connor, Molly Slattery, Noah Doherty, Tadhg Mcinerney.


  • Art U8 & O6 Boys (Quin - Clooney): Ruairi McGowan.
  • Art U16 & O14 Boys (Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry): David Hamilton.
  • Duathlon U15 & O13 Girls (Clarecastle Ballyea): Ella Doherty.
  • Soccer Outdoor U15 & O11 Girls ((Ennis St Johns): Amidat Karimu, Amy Horgan, Amy Russell, Candice Brennan, Chloe Barry, Darlene Oyenjekwe, Emma Ikieby, Glodia Luyinduladio, Inas Moussaoui, Lauren Cusack, Naoimi O'Shoughnessy, Sharifa Noor, Sinead Conway, Tara Mcinerney.
  • Swimming - 1 Length Backstroke U10 & O8 Boys (Ennis St Johns): Leo Liu.
  • Swimming - 1 Length Backstroke U10 & O8 Girls (Doora Barefield): Ella Holly.
  • Swimming - 2 Lengths Backstroke U16 & O14 Boys (Killaloe): Rowan Barrett.
  • Swim Squad(4x50m Medley) U16 & O13 Boys (Clarecastle Ballyea): Conor Mahony, Tim Collins, James Costelloe, Sabian Kulczynksi.


  • Chess U13 & O6 Boys/Girls/Mixed (Ennis St Johns, Clare): Cian Pyne, Ciaran Mcmanus, Diarmuid Kilroy, Dylan Mooney, Ronan Kilroy, Ronan Marren.
  • Cycling on Grass U14 & O12 Girls: Lisanne O'Brien (Kilrush).
  • Skittles U16 & O13 Mixed
  • (Quin - Clooney): Adam Deegan, Cian Wall, Cliodhna Ryan, Cormac Browne, Ethan Moloney, Joseph O'Sullivan, Saoirse Boyce.
  • Swimming - 1 Length Freestyle U10 & O8 Boys (Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry): Oisin O'Grady.
  • Swimming - 2 Lengths Backstroke U16 & O14 Girls (Ennis St Johns): Elise Pyne.
  • Swim Squad(4x1 length Freestyle) U13 & O10 Boys ((Ennistymon - Lahinch - Liscannor): Eanna Rouine, Kevin Nunan, Kyron Droney, Ross Coyne.
  • Swim Squad(4x50m Medley) U16 & O13 Girls (Doora Barefield): Aisling Reidy, Amy Lenihan, Laura McDonnell, Leah Mcmahon, Tara McEvoy.

4th Place

  • Duathlon U15 & O13 Boys (Doonbeg): Conor Blake.
  • Talent - Group Dance Irish Contemporary U12 & O6 Boys/Girls/Mixed (Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry): Claire and Niall Liddane.
  • Talent - Group Music U12 & O6 Boys/Girls/Mixed (Clarecastle Ballyea): Alan Casey, Caoimhe Parry, Liam McNamara, Oisin McNamara, Roisin Halpin, Zoe Ellingstad.
  • Talent - Group Singing U16 & O6 Boys/Girls/Mixed (Doora Barefield): Aela Daly, Saoirse Daly, Tara Gregory Gorman.
  • Pitch and Putt U16 & O6 Boys (Sixmilebridge-Kilmurry): Cian Fawl, Colm Flynn, Noel Flynn, Dara Casey.
  • Rugby Tag U14 (Killaloe): Alexandra Wood, Cian O'Donnell, Diarmuid Coleman, Eibhlis Coleman, Gearoid Rodgers, Gordie Wood, Jennifer Daly, Joe McGrath, Julie Elliott, Oisin Monaghan, Shane Geraghty, Stephen Geraghty.
  • Swimming - 2 Lengths Backstroke U14 & O12 Boys (Quin - Clooney): Sean McGrath.
  • Swimming - 2 Lengths Backstroke U14 & O12 Girls (Corofin-Kilnaboy): Aoife Madigan.
  • Swimming - 2 Lengths Freestyle U16 & O14 Boys (Ennistymon - Lahinch - Liscannor): Eoin Rouine.

A & B Competitions

  • Swimming - 1 Length Freestyle U8 & O6 Boys (Doora Barefield): Shane Dilleen.


Any omissions or errors, please let us know.

Official Sponsor

Please support our sponsors, your local credit union: St Francis Credit Union. Head Office: Friars Walk, Ennis, Co. Clare. Tel: 065-6828305

Opening Hours: Mon, Tue & Thu: 10-5 Wed: 10:30-5 Fri: 10-7:30 Sat: 9:30-2 

Clare Community Games is affiliated with Aldi Community Games.

About us

Community Games is an independent voluntary organisation which operates through the local community to provide an opportunity for young people (6 to 16 years) to experience a wide range of sporting and cultural activities before concentrating and specialising in those most suitable and attractive to them. To get involved, contact your local area representative or contact the County Secretary to find out more.

Founded 1971
 Website Admin