Hurling 2017

The St Francis Credit Union Clare Community Games Hurling competitions for U11 boys were held on Bank holiday Monday, 1st May, in Broadford GAA Pitch in glorious sunshine. The pitch was in splendid condition. Eleven teams took part. The Standard was extremely high with some great displays of skill & teamwork. The co ordinator was Pat Loughnane with a team of capable assistants including referees Kevin Walshe & Andrew McMahon. Cratloe were the well deserving winners by the narrowest of margins after a very close final. Cratloe now go forward to represent Clare in the Munster finals in U.L. on 1st July.

In the first rounds Cratloe beat Newmarket-on-Fergus 8-5 to 1-1, Derg beat Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry 1 5-1 to 1-4, Quin/Clooney 1 beat Killaloe 5-7 to 2-1, Inch/Kilmaley/Connolly beat Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry 2 6-7 to 1-0, Quin/Clooney 2 beat Kilkishen/O'Callaghans Mills/Oatfield 7-4 to 2-1 while Doora/Barefield had a bys.

In the quarter finals – Cratloe beat Quin/Clooney 2 3-6 to 3-0, Derg beat Doora/Barefield 2-4 to 0-6. Doora/Barefield were ahead up to the final few minutes when Derg blasted in two goals to win.

In the semi finals – Cratloe beat Quin/Clooney 1 2-4 to 1-3 & Derg beat Inch/Kilmaley/Connolly.

Quin/Clooney 1 proved the stronger when they beat Inch/Kilmaley/Connolly for the Bronze medals.

The final was a very exciting close match of two very evenly mached teams with the Cratloe boys edgeing ahead in the closing minutes to take the gold medals from Derg by just 1pt 1-5 to 2-1.


See more photos on Facebook courtesy of Mary Loughnane.


  1. Cratloe – Eanna Collins, Riain Collins, Ultan Donnelly, Darragh Egan, Evan Flahive, Sean Healy, Shane Leahy, Tadhg Lohan, Sam Mulholland, Garreth Murphy, Marc O'Brien, David O'Callaghan, Ian O'Brien, Cian O'Gorman, Morris Ryan, Odhran Sheppard.
  2. Derg – Harry Collins, Donacha Crotty, Mathew Crotty, Donnacha Dobson, Cormac Doyle, Ronan Fitzmaurice, Lee Harrington, Dylan Joyce, Sean Og Kilkenny, Jack Madden, Cathal McCaul, Oran Mulvihill, Owen Nugent, Paul Rodgers, Senan Sheedy, Michael Vaughan.
  3. Quin/Clooney 1 – James Brooks, Dylan Browne, Lachlan Carey, Conor Clancey, Conal Fennell, Patrick Finneran, Paddy Gardiner, Conor McCarthy, P.J. McCarthy, Jerry O'Connor, Fionn O'Gara, Tadhg O'Keeffe, Daragh White.
  4. Inch/Kilmaley/Connolly – Sean Carmody, Andrew Clancy, Patrick Clancy, Aidan Connellan, Ryan Courtney, James Doherty, Tadhg Falvey, Gareth Harvey, Jason Hayes, Jamie Healy, Padraig Healy, Ben McMahon, James Murphy, David O'Donoghue, Luke Reid, Leo Switzer.
  • All
  • 2010
  • 2013
  • 2014
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • 2018
  • 2019
  • Hurling

Official Sponsor

Please support our sponsors, your local credit union: St Francis Credit Union. Head Office: Friars Walk, Ennis, Co. Clare. Tel: 065-6828305

Opening Hours: Mon, Tue & Thu: 10-5 Wed: 10:30-5 Fri: 10-7:30 Sat: 9:30-2 

Clare Community Games is affiliated with Aldi Community Games.

About us

Community Games is an independent voluntary organisation which operates through the local community to provide an opportunity for young people (6 to 16 years) to experience a wide range of sporting and cultural activities before concentrating and specialising in those most suitable and attractive to them. To get involved, contact your local area representative or contact the County Secretary to find out more.

Founded 1971
 Website Admin